Monday, September 22, 2014

People who suffer from food allergies at risk for new gluten-free ingredient

If you or a loved one suffers from a food allergy, you will want to start reading the ingredient labels on gluten-free products with a more keen and cautious eye.  A food safety specialist from Kansas State University Manhattan is warning that Lupin, a popular new ingredient used in gluten-free foods, can cause reactions from those who suffer from peanut, legume or soy allergies. The wheat replacement belongs to the same plant family as the peanut. While the bean is popular in Europe and Australia, it is relatively unknown in the United States and many American consumers have not been warned of potential problems if they ingest the protein. The Food and Drug Administration expects lupin to become a more common ingredient in gluten-free diets since it possesses a number of health benefits, including high protein and dietary fiber content while being low in fat.

No comments: